Share

The Concept

Make use of mosquitoes’ instinct in order to trick them and decimate their descendants by saturating nuisance places with trapped mosquitoes’ nests.

This biological fight against grubs consists in continuously giving mosquitoes the ideal trapped laying place so that they could quietly lay down their eggs and thus stop their reproduction cycles.

Protection

This concept of trap is patented and an international brand known as “VAEDES” as well as the design and logo have been registered.

 

AEDESTRUCTOR, VAEDES Trap

40 liters two-part pond (in kit-form) – Plastic injection molding – Black color – Soft and anti-UV treated

It can be placed or buried on the soil or in a garden.

It has been made with approximately 2.5 kilos of raw material (plastic)

This pond is perfectly appropriated to the entomological plane.

The trap is supplied with an instructions leaflet. It has a heart-shaped bowl which design is pleasant and feng-shui.

2 1

Picture of trap in a real-life situation

9

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x17u3sg_aedes-aegypti-pond-dans-un-piege-image-en-macro_animals

 

The funnel effect

When the traps are well located, as near the adjoining boundaries, mosquitoes that move within a radius of several dozens of meters are lured by the system; this is why a great number of eggs are destroyed.

 

The scientific ratification of the idea

This concept is an association of scientifically-recognized data.

It is scientifically proved that the mosquito lays in the first watering place which suits him; this is why it is recommended to avoid the presence of sub-pots, toys, covers and all other black colored plastic things, such as tires, containing stagnant water. Tires are places that favor female mosquitoes for the oviposition (laying eggs)

It is scientifically proved (REITER 2007) that when grubs’ nests are too small (less than 300ml), the mosquito is able to divide its clutch and find another watering place which would offer better  conditions for the rest of its clutch. The more the watering place is small, the more the quantity of laid eggs will be small, hence the necessity to have more and more sizeable traps (40 liters).

Mosquitoes know instinctively that the more the grubs’ nest is small, the less the grubs will have chance to survive.

It is scientifically proved that AEDES AEGYPTI mosquitoes prefer watering places containing plants such as bamboos, hence the necessity to place on the surface of the trap some bamboo leaves (Ficus leaves also give good results)

It is scientifically proved that unlike chemical substances, grubs could never resist fishes!

It is scientifically proved that the mosquito can’t detect the presence of the biological agent and lays despite the presence of fishes.

It is scientifically proved that at first the mosquito emerges from an egg and then becomes a grub.

It is scientifically proved that AEDES AEGYPTI mosquitoes pass on the virus to its eggs, this phenomenon is known as a vertical transmission; hence the necessity to fight against grubs in order to collect eggs infected by viruses.

It is scientifically proved that the insertion of predators in grubs’ nests gives good results; as in Vietnam where good results were obtained thanks to the insertion of predators in rainwater storehouses.

“Some of small-sized shellfish (from COPEPODA Order) attack during the first larval phase. In Vietnam, they have been used on a large scale in rainwater storehouses to fight against AEDES AEGYPTI mosquitoes; the results were encouraging”

http://www.endemia.nc/pub/Moustiques.pdf (page 13)

 

Why results are so good?

Destroy the nests or avoid mosquitoes to access to water oblige them to find other laying places; but this only shift ineluctably the problem.

By inserting predators in nests, mosquitoes keep on laying their eggs in nests which become traps because the descendants of mosquitoes are eaten by the predators.

 

Preamble

The fight against carriers-insects is a major concern for the health departments of the concerned countries. The dengue fever, which is a viral disease passed on by AEDES AEGYPTI mosquitoes is, just like the malaria, one of the most important disease affecting human populations of the intertropical regions.

Since few years, New-Caledonia has to face a massive outbreak of cases of dengue fever. In order to limit at its maximum the spread of this disease, it is essential to limit; first of all; the carriers, that is to say the AEDES AEGYPTI mosquito.

During many years, the supervision of mosquitoes was realized by the massive use of insecticides, having for targets adults or grubs. In the first years of their use, these methods were very efficient. Now, we know their limits (REITER, 2007)

The aerial spreading of insecticides is from now on less systematic because it presents several disadvantages such as the selection of mosquitoes populations resistant to insecticides; the contamination of natural environment by huge quantities of insecticide molecules which are highly toxic for a wide and varied range of invertebrate animals, and finally, some of the mosquitoes which are inside houses are not affected by these insecticides.

At present, all the departments implied in the fight against mosquitoes agree that a more global approach combined with a reasoned chemical fight, the reduction of grubs’ nests and the use of auxiliary insects is needed. These auxiliary insects are generally grubs’ predators.

These methods implying a massive participation of the inhabitants residing in the concerned regions showed significant positive results, particularly in Vietnam thanks to the use of a varied range of grubs’ predators such as copepod insects.

The method proposed by the Company LSMconcept “La Solution Moustique” to decrease mosquitoes’ populations proceeds in two phases. At first, a visual search allows to list all the potential grubs’ nests present in the area. These nests are then destroyed; for example: the containers filled with stagnant water are emptied.

This phase of decrease of the grubs’ nests is followed by the introduction of tubs containing grubs’ predator fishes. These black-colored plastic tubs are filled with water and a part recovers half of the surface. Besides fishes, some plants’ leaves (which are deteriorating) are added to water in order to make the environment more attractive for gravid mosquitoes-females. In fact, it is a matter of recreating a very attractive laying place offering ideal environmental conditions for gravid mosquitoes-females.

The predatory fishes that were retained by the persons working for the Company “La Solution Moustique” are the guppy and the gambusia. These species are grubs’ predators-fishes.

The species has already showed its efficiency in programs for the fight against mosquitoes’ grubs.

Doctor Julien Lebreton, Biodical: http://www.biodiversite.nc/Biodical-expert-en-biodiversite-terrestre-animale_a313.html

Share

Share

Le Concept

Se servir et utiliser l’instinct des moustiques pour les duper et décimer leurs descendances en saturant les lieux de nuisances avec des gîtes piégés.

Cette lutte larvicide biologique consiste à mettre en permanence à disposition des moustiques un lieu de ponte idéal et piégé afin qu'ils puissent en toute quiétude déposer leurs œufs et ainsi stopper leurs cycles de reproduction.

Protection

Le concept du piège est breveté, une marque internationale est déposée, « Vaédes », ainsi que le design du dispositif et le logo.

 

Descriptif du piège Vaedes, l’Aedestructor

Bassin de 40 litres en deux parties (kit), une partie inférieure et une partie supérieure ; en plastique injecté de couleur noir, souple et traité anti UV,  peut être posé à même le sol ou enterré dans le sol ou dans une jardinière.

Il est conçu avec 2,5 kilos environ de matière première (plastique).

Ce bassin est parfaitement adapté sur le plan entomologique.

Fourni avec un mode d'emploi, le piège est en forme de cœur avec un design agréable et feng-shui.

1 2

Photo d’un piège en situation

9

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x17u3sg_aedes-aegypti-pond-dans-un-piege-image-en-macro_animals

 

L'effet entonnoir

Lorsque les pièges sont bien situés, comme près des limites mitoyennes, les moustiques qui gravitent dans un rayon de plusieurs dizaines de mètres sont attirés par le dispositif, c'est pour cette raison qu'un grand nombre d'œufs est détruit.

La validation scientifique de l'idée

Le concept est une association de données scientifiquement reconnues.

Il est démontré scientifiquement que le moustique pond dans le premier point d'eau (gîte) qui lui convient, c'est pour cette raison qu'il nous est consigné de ne pas laisser d’eau stagnante dans notre environnement comme les sous-pots, jouets, bâches et tout ce qui est en plastique noir comme les pneus qui sont des lieux que privilégient les femelles moustiques pour l'oviposition (dépose des œufs).

Il est démontré scientifiquement (REITER 2007) que lorsque les gîtes sont trop petits (300ml tout au plus), ou que toutes les conditions ne sont pas réunies, le moustique est capable de fragmenter sa ponte et d’aller à la recherche d’un autre point d'eau qui offrirait de meilleures conditions pour le reste de sa ponte. Plus le point d'eau est petit, plus la quantité d'œufs pondus sera minime, d'où la nécessité de multiplier les pièges de taille conséquente, faisant au minimum 40 litres.

Par instinct les moustiques savent que plus le gîte sera petit, moins les larves auront de chance de survie.

Il est démontré scientifiquement que les moustiques de type Aedes privilégient l'eau avec des végétaux de type bambou, d'où la nécessité de placer dans l'eau du piège quelques feuilles de bambou ; les feuilles de ficus donnent aussi de bons résultats.

Il démontré de façon scientifique que contrairement aux substances chimiques, les larves ne pourront jamais faire de la résistance aux poissons !

Il est démontré scientifiquement que le moustique ne peut déceler la présence de l'agent biologique et pond malgré la présence des poissons.

Il est démontré scientifiquement que le moustique est d'abord œuf puis devient larve.

Il est démontré de façon scientifique que les moustiques de type Aèdes transmettent les virus à leurs œufs, cela se nomme transmission verticale, d'où la nécessité d'utiliser une lutte larvicide afin de récupérer les œufs infectés par les virus.

Il est démontré scientifiquement que l'introduction de prédateurs dans les gîtes donne de bons résultats, comme au Vietnam où de bons résultats ont été obtenus grâce à l'introduction de prédateurs dans les réserves d'eau de pluie.

«Certains crustacés de petite taille (ordre des copépodes) s’attaquent aux premiers stades larvaires. Des essais de leur utilisation à grande échelle au Vietnam pour lutter contre Aedes aegypti dans les récipients de stockage d’eau de pluie s’avèrent encourageants.»

http://www.endemia.nc/pub/Moustiques.pdf

Pourquoi de bons résultats ?

Détruire le gîte ou empêcher les moustiques d'avoir l’accès à l'eau oblige les moustiques à chercher d'autres lieux de ponte, cela ne fait que déplacer le problème de façon inéluctable.

En plaçant des prédateurs dans les gîtes, les moustiques « continuent » à y pondre leurs œufs, de ce fait les gîtes deviennent des pièges parce que la descendance du moustique est consommée par les prédateurs.

 

Introduction 

La lutte contre les insectes vecteurs de maladies est une préoccupation majeure des services de santé des pays concernés. La dengue, maladie virale transmise par le moustique Aedes aegpti compte, au même titre que le paludisme, parmi les maladies les plus importantes atteignant les populations humaines de la région intertropicale.

 La Nouvelle-Calédonie doit, depuis quelques années, faire face à une recrudescence massive des cas de dengue. Afin de limiter au maximum la propagation de cette maladie, il est primordial de limiter en premier lieu les populations du vecteur, le moustique Aedes aegypti.

Pendant de nombreuses années, le contrôle des moustiques a été réalisé par l’utilisation massive d’insecticides ayant pour cibles les adultes ou les larves. Ces méthodes ont été, dans les premières années de leur utilisation, très efficaces. A l’heure actuelle, elles ont montré leurs limites (Reiter, 2007).

Les épandages aériens d’insecticides sont désormais mois systématiques car ils présentent certains désavantages tels que la sélection de populations de moustiques résistantes aux insecticides ; la contamination des milieux naturels par de grandes quantités de molécules insecticides relativement toxiques pour un large spectre d’animaux invertébrés et enfin une certaine quantité de moustiques présents à l’intérieur des habitations n’est pas atteinte par ces insecticides.

A l’heure actuelle, tous les services impliqués dans la lutte contre les moustiques conviennent qu’il faut une approche plus globale alliant une lutte chimique raisonnée, la diminution des gites larvaires et l’utilisation d’auxiliaires de contrôle. Ces auxiliaires de contrôle sont généralement des prédateurs de larves.

Ces méthodes impliquant une participation massive des habitants des régions concernées ont montré des résultats positifs significatifs en particulier au Vietnam grâce à l’utilisation de différents prédateurs de larves tels que des insectes copépodes.

La méthode proposée par la société LSMconcept « La Solution Moustique » pour diminuer les populations de moustiques s’opère en deux phases. Dans un premier temps, une recherche visuelle permet de répertorier tous les gites larvaires potentiels présents sur la zone. Ces gites sont ensuite éliminés, par exemple les récipients contenants de l’eau stagnante sont vidés.

Cette phase de diminution des gites larvaires est suivie de l’implantation de bacs contenant des poissons prédateurs de larves. Ces bacs en plastique noir, sont remplis d’eau et une partie recouvre la moitié de la surface. En plus des poissons, quelques feuilles de végétaux (en dégradation) sont ajoutées à l’eau afin de rendre le milieu plus attractif pour les femelles moustiques gravides. Il s’agit en fait de récréer un pondoir offrant des conditions environnementales idéales et très attractif pour des femelles moustiques gravides.

Les poissons prédateurs qui ont été retenus par les personnes de l’entreprise « La solution moustique » est le guppy et la gambuse. Ces espèces sont des espèces prédatrices de larves.

L’espèce a déjà fait preuve d’efficacité dans des programmes de lutte contre les larves de moustiques.

Docteur Julien Lebreton, Biodical: http://www.biodiversite.nc/Biodical-expert-en-biodiversite-terrestre-animale_a313.html

Share